South Whidbey Fire/EMS welcomes new fire commissioners Savannah Erickson and Jim Towers. Erickson was elected to Position 3 during the Nov. 2 general election, and will be sworn in at the Jan. 13, 2022 fire commissioner meeting.

Erickson is a former Federal Emergency Management Agency spokesperson. She will serve a six-year term, currently held by Frank Mestemacher who is leaving at the end of 2021.

Towers will be officially sworn in at the Nov. 9 fire commissioner meeting, to fill Position 1. He is a former firefighter with the district and marine engineer. Towers is completing the remainder of the term vacated by Larry Metz, which ends in 2023, at which time he will need to be elected. His appointment follows an interview process, where he was selected on Nov. 4 from several candidates who had applied for the position.

Please note the date for this month’s fire commissioner meeting, to be held virtually, as it has been moved from Nov. 11 to Nov. 9, due to the Veteran’s Day holiday. The public may join the meeting at 5:30 p.m. from a computer, tablet or smart phone at or by phone at: 1-877-309-2073, access code: 141-028-109.


# # #